Wed Troop 40th -2015
Facts about Malahide Sea Scouts

A Long Time ago

In 1912 Lt. H. Rundle R.N. Officer in Charge H.M. Coastguard Malahide, was appointed 1st Sea Scout Commissioner for Ireland by Chief Scout Robert Baden-Powell

The first record of a Sea Scout Group in Malahide was in 1919 (96 years ago) with 18 boys

This Group ceased to exist in the mid 1920′s

The current Group started in 1949 in St Andrew’s Parish School.

The Group returned to being a Sea Scout Group in 1968

The Den

The Sea Scouts in 1919 met at the rear of 12 St.Jame’s Tce. On Townyard Lane, Malahide

The Group when reformed in 1949 met in St Andrew’s Parish School, Church Road, Malahide and had QM storage in “The Loft” The Courtyard, Malahide Castle by kind permission of Lord M Talbot

Our first property was a small houseboat on the Upper Estuary in the early 1970′s, Named Lee-Ho. Boat storage at Seatown Hse by kind permission of the Dickie family

The first Scout Den on the current site was a pre-fabricated Structure built in 1975.

The Current Scout Den was constructed in 1983.Opened in 1984 and re-developed 2016


Malahide Sea Scout Group is the largest Scout Group in Ireland and the largest Sea Scout Group in Europe. Since its beginnings 8500 young people have passed through the group

Currently there are 3 beaver teams, 3 Cub Packs, and 4 Sea Scout Troops operating in the Group.

There are almost 500 young people and over 120 Volunteer Adult Leaders involved.

Scouts are boating and Canoeing 5 evenings during the week and all weekend during the Boating Season (May to September).

Everybody who comes through Malahide Sea Scouts is famous but some are better known. Adam Clayton, Dave Evans (Edge), Richard (Dik) Evans, John Kilraine, Mark Little, Philip Quinn, Richard Burrows, Scott Flanagan, Eamon Falvey, Karl Deeter, Kevin Dundon, Philip Walton


All the leaders in the Group are volunteers and give generously of their time to work with the young people of Malahide and surrounds.

The current Leadership team of the Group has in excess of 500 years of leadership experience between them. The longest continuance member is 45 years

Since its reformation in 1949 Leaders in the Group have received the following awards from the Scout Association of Ireland and Scouting Ireland for Services to Scouting.3 Order of Cu Chulainn, 2 Silver Elk, 4 Silver Shamrocks, 6 Gold Awards, 7 Silver Awards, 19 Bronze Awards, 3 Bars to the Medal of Merit, 12 Medals of Merit and 45 Chief Scout Commendations

There are 18 Woodbadge holders (Leader Training Award) among the current leadership team.

Other Achievements

The Group has produced a number of Green vests in Canoeing over the years and has had past members Olympians in the 1996, 2004 and 2012 Olympics.

Scouts from the Group have been part of Irish contingents to World Scout Jamborees since 1920, The Olympia,London ,1929 Arrowe Park,Birkenhead,1957 Sutton Coldfield UK ,1975 Norway, 1979 Iran Cancelled, and 1983 Canada. 1987 Australia, 1991 Korea, 1995 Holland ,1999 Chile,2003 Thailand ,2007 UK,2011 Sweden,2015 Japan

Since 1949 Malahide Scouts have camped in excess of 66,000 nights.

K .Rowen 2017